google-site-verification: google5eb77660eaa2b2c0.html
top of page

     AMERICANISM AWARDS – March 9th, 2023

(L-R) Kaleena Jensen - Homeschool teacher, Pearl Jensen, Sailor Jensen, Tristian Lyon, Hunter Stemmerman, George Bandy - Exalted Ruler, Chloe Thurman, Jovie Felsheim, Kaylie Smith - Reedsport Charter School Teacher.


The presentation of Americanism Essay awards took place on March 9, 2023, recognizing seven students for their essays. The theme this year was: “What is Your American Dream?” This Grand Lodge program is open to students in the fifth through eighth grades.

Division II- 6th grade first place winner Pearl Jensen. 

Division III- 7th grade winners were; first place Sailor Jensen, second place Hunter Stemmerman and third place Trystan Lyon.

Division IV- 8th grade winners were; first place Jovie Felsheim, second place Chloe Thurman and third place Brooklyn Chudy.

Awards of $100 to first place winners, $75 to second place winners and $50 to third place winners were presented by George Bandy, Exalted Ruler.

Honorable Mentions went to Emily Corcoran 7th grade and Alexandra Billings 8th grade.

Pearl and Sailor Jensen are homeschooled by their mother Kaleena Jensen, Academy by the Sea.

Hunter, Tristian Jovie, Chloe and Brooklyn are students of Kaylie B. Smith, who teaches the 7th and 8th grades at Reedsport Community Charter School. Ms. Smith was also present.

Our judging panel included Jolyne Alaniz, Barb Tyler, Spunky Gray, Steve and Linda Sylvester and ER George Bandy.

Thank you to our members and our judges. Without your support these awards would not be possible.

Fraternally, Linda Sylvester, acting Americanism Chair.

Freedom is not free !

Americanism Essay Contest Information

bottom of page